Home » Book Reviews » Book Review: “Taking Chances” by Molly McAdams

Book Review: “Taking Chances” by Molly McAdams

Taking Chances

Taking Chances by Molly McAdams

Taking Chances by Molly McAdams
Series: Taking Chances #1
Genre: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary
Buy the Book | Goodreads

Eighteen-year-old Harper has grown up under the thumb of her career marine father. Ready to live life her own way and to experience things she’s only ever heard of from the jarheads in her father’s unit, she’s on her way to college at San Diego State University.

Thanks to her new roommate, Harper is introduced to a world of parties, gorgeous guys, family, and emotions. She finds herself being torn in two as she quickly falls in love with both her new boyfriend, Brandon, and her roommate’s brother, Chase. Despite their dangerous looks and histories, both men adore Harper and would do anything for her, including taking a step back if it would mean she’d be happy

This review is a bit of a rough edit – I wrote it straight onto goodreads shortly after completing it two months ago. I initially was thinking of rewriting, but this is my first impression and thought it was pure enough to post so copy ans pasting it here… (Forgive my repetitiveness, I promise the reviews to come will be better and more detailed)

…………………………

I started the book with High hopes (also avoided reading further into the reviews to not spoil my own reactions to the book) and enjoyed it mostly, despite this “perfect” girl that starred in it (and the countless times we are reminded throughout to ensure we remember that. lol)

I know see a lot of critiques about the falling in love so fast, talking about marriage so soon. But that I really don’t mind, as mind boggling as that seems to some people, it really is possible. Whirlwind romances happen so why not write about it. I know my husband and I were weeks in when we were already talking about marriage and a family. So its possible – and the twist of having two kept me interested to an extent.

The characters were written really well and I truly fell in love with both guys. I mean who wouldn’t?! Have you read them? The entire way through I envision Channing Tatum as Brandon, and Charlie Hunnam as Chase. And I don’t mean Charlie Hunnam, Sons of Anarchy (he’s cute too) – I mean Charlie Hunnam, SOA tattoos- but Green Street Hooligan Looks! Have you seen him in that movie?!

I’m not looking to dive too much into the characters and point out their flaws or what I specifically like/dislike.. as I feel picking apart the characters doesn’t prove much. The book is done, I read it, and re-read it a couple more times, people can love it, and people can hate it.

I truly wanted to really love it but I just couldn’t. I re-read the book in hopes it would change my opinion. Failed. But it was an ‘almost’ for me. I kept stopping a little after the BIG EVENT! The entire first part i LOVED.

Don’t get me wrong – I enjoyed it for the most part – but by the time the ‘big event’ happened I was really done. The rest of the book was waaaay too easy. THIS happens and everyone is fine and dandy and moved on before you know it. That part just lost me – my reading turned into skimming just to finish and see where this was all going.

I know people don’t like to be left hanging – but packaging everything up in a perfectly wrapped present with no visible tape and a gorgeous shiny bow on top doesn’t make a great ending after something so life changing happened is just unbelievable.

I could have done without that, and in fact could have survived with just a small bit of content after the big event- but that’s my opinion.

If it weren’t for the ending of the book, this would absolutely be an I’M IN LOVE review.

Now the second book, Stealing Harper – from Chases point of view… that has me all kinds of excited!!!! But probably because it retells my favorite part of the book!!

4 thoughts on “Book Review: “Taking Chances” by Molly McAdams

  1. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon on a daily basis.
    It will always be helpful to read articles from other writers and practice something from other sites.

  2. Hmm it appears like your site ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up
    what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole
    thing. Do you have any tips for inexperienced blog writers?
    I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    • thank you for your kind words. means a lot especially seeing as i am just starting out myself.
      All I can say is that the best blog posts are honest. Hearing someones honest opinions about their latest reads makes a huge difference to me, whether it me good or bad, gives you an honest opinion rather than a sugar coated and fluffed review.
      Please keep in touch as I would love to follow your blog when you decide to publish it!

Leave a Reply

