Home » Book Reviews » Book Review: “Fierce” by Clarissa Wild

Book Review: “Fierce” by Clarissa Wild

Fierce

Fierce by Clarissa Wild

Fierce by Clarissa Wild
Genre: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary
Buy the Book | Goodreads

Fight for your dreams. Fight for your life. Fight for love.
Nerdy girl Autumn Blakewood is the prime example of a goody two-shoes. She studies every night, is never late for class, and always follows the rules. She has never felt the need to step out of her comfort zone. That is, until she meets Hunter.
Hunter Bane is a cocky, confident bad-boy, who’s nothing but trouble. He’s a dangerous distraction to everyone around him. Sexy and strong, Hunter enjoys the swooning effect he has on women. Especially those who aren’t used to attention, like Autumn.
Autumn finds it hard not to give into Hunter’s advances, even though it all seems like a game to him. Trying to understand him is impossible, because he shrouds himself in mystery.

What she doesn’t know is that Hunter has more baggage than anyone should have to carry. When she discovers he’s in an illegal frat club to save the one person that matters to him, Autumn realizes this could mean the end of her undeniable connection to him. Even their lives are at risk.
But it’s too late to turn back now …

I was given an ARC of this novel, in exchange for an honest review.

…………………………

After receiving this book, and getting the cover (which is amazing don’t you think?!) I was excited to start my journey with Autumn and Hunter.

Even the synopsis had be wanting more. In an instant I was drawn to the good girl meets confident bad boy. But who isn’t nowadays. I think I’ve read at least a dozen good girl / bad boy novels and have been hooked by each and every one of them.

Except this one.

It seemed right up my usual alley but unfortunately when our paths intersected we sort of sidestepped each other and went our separate ways…

It is VERY rare that I DNF a book (especially this being an ARC) and this one ended up right at the cusp. Honestly after forcing my way through the first 2 chapters I found myself skimming and just wanting it to be done.

Autumn is this nerdy girl just starting college. Old BFF(male) and current BFF(female) right at her side. BFFs seem to hate each other. One BFF secretly seems to want her(the female one), so the other dislikes that BFF(the male one).

Meanwhile there’s Hunter. The mysterious boy a few doors down who enters the picture in the first scene. he has secrets. She’s drawn to him instantly. But she is sad that he wont tell her his secrets about being a secret fighter and worries herself.

Did I lose you? Was that too choppy? Honestly I feel like that was the style of writing and that is was I seemed to be reading.

The story was quite difficult for me to get into, and yes, maybe it was her style of writing that seemed choppy to me, but either way it was a really slow start.

I think if there had been more development of the characters it could have been a much better read. The storyline had potential, but seriously lacked substance and everything seemed so ‘instant’. Instantly someone hates another character just cause she saw her. Instantly Autumn wants Hunter to tell her all his secrets, even though they’ve spoken only twice. There was no development and I feel like I couldn’t love any one character because we learn nothing about them.

With more depth and character development the author could have really taken this story somewhere as some of the underlying story lines had the potential to make this story great. Little things became big problems for me, like the fact that they acted like immature freshmen in high school rather than college. And the instant hate one second, and besties the next pretty much drove me insane.

I am sure that there are others that may come across this book as a great read, and each is entitled to their own review. But for me this was lacking and not a recommended read on my part.

I am very thankful that this author let me take part in the book blitz and provided an ARC for this novel. But unfortunately it was a miss for me.

Leave a Reply

