Home » Series » Beautiful » Book Review: “Beautiful Disaster” by Jamie McGuire

Book Review: “Beautiful Disaster” by Jamie McGuire

Beautiful Disaster

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire
Series: Beautiful #1
Genre: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary
Buy the Book | Goodreads

INTENSE. DANGEROUS. ADDICTIVE.

Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate number of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance from the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.

Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby wants—and needs—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the ultimate college campus charmer. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his appeal, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’s apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.

…………………………

I stumbled upon Beautiful Disaster after searching through goodreads (shortly after my addiction came the fruition back in December).

And lets just say that because of such critical reviews I became intrigued.

What would make people hate this book so much and leave such harsh remarks about this bad boy new adult novel? I am never one to listen to a review solely to base my opinion, but I honestly almost didn’t read the book because of all the horrible reviews about ‘abuse’ and the main character Travis being a ‘stalker’. It’s such a touchy subject and in actuality, not something I am drawn to in books. But that’s just me.

But I took a chance because amongst all those negative reviews were loving reviews that boasting on how great it was. If it really was a great book, I could have easily missed out because I listened to all these naysayers. So i didn’t I took a leap of faith and dove into the book without any prejudice.

At this point, all I can say is I was ABSOLUTELY mislead and am so thankful I decided to read the book myself! From the reviews I was expecting Travis to be abusive towards Abby (because that’s what everyone was saying) and hit her or something, or at least come close to it. where these people read that? I don’t know. Their imaginations must have got them a bit carried away.

Yeah Travis was intense, it was part of who he was. But nowhere near the monster people decided to label him in these reviews.

Beautiful Disaster was am AMAZING read. A story of girl named Abby moving on from her past, and falling for a boy who was exactly like her past, the type she promised to stay away from. Travis is intense, raw, wild and very much open about the fact that its only sex for him, but girls always think they can be the one to tame him.

Their relationship, once it comes to fruition becomes extremely intense, but that’s why their relationship is such a beautiful disaster. Not every relationship is smooth sailing, the true test is when obstacles are thrown in their way and whether or not they fight for what they want is what makes the romance so epic.

Travis is very much a bad boy and runs on impulse without thinking things through most times, and some may hate his character for that. But I loved every second of this book (minus one scene, but I’ll get to that in a minute)

The only scene I can do without, is when she basically ‘sicks’ Travis on a guy after saying “Teach him some manners!” – what is he am animal? That was a horrible scene and I just pretend it didn’t happen as that really changed by outlook on Abby’s character. It seemed very out of character for her, and I didn’t like it. So in my head, that scene was deleted and I moved on.

The entire book was a roller coaster ride of emotions that you were just waiting to see the crash. And that’s what I loved about it. Beautiful Disaster is truly captivating and extremely addictive! I’ve already moved on to the second book from Travis’ perspective. (Gosh I am really getting addicted to the boy’s side of all these stories)

If you must read something, then this is really it. Beautiful Disaster is very much criticized and praised equally but I truly urge people to take a chance and leave judgement at the window, and experience it for yourself, unbiased.

One thought on “Book Review: “Beautiful Disaster” by Jamie McGuire

Leave a Reply

